Reviews

We are proud of the reviews we have received over the years.  In 2011, 2012, and 2013, we received Angie’s List Super Service Awards and Honor Roll Awards for our exceptional service.

Here are just a few examples of people who have been happy with the service they received when getting their acoustic/popcorn ceiling removed by System 1.

Current Super Service Awards

Year Category
2014 Drywall
2014 Plastering
2014 Painting – Interior

Super Service Awards History

Year Category
2013 Drywall
2013 Plastering
2013 Painting – Interior
2012 Drywall
2012 Plastering
2012 Painting – Interior
2011 Drywall

 

Angie’s List Review – April 20, 2014

“Richard and System1 was extremely responsive on quoting and scheduling an extremely short notice request.  Richard was willing to work out a Saturday schedule for a job that needed to done quickly.  Chon arrived on time and carefully masked off the entire area and hallway to access the area.  Chon worked quickly and quietly to not disturb surrounding neighbors in the condominium complex.

The work  is the highest quality and the match is nearly perfect and was completed on time as estimated.  I have been working with several contractors lately and my experience with System1 and Chon was excellent.  I will definitely be contacting them for future work.”

– Robert Buchanan (Irvine)

Angie’s List Review – April 9, 2014

“Everything went as planned
1. very timely and efficient
2. Fair pricing
3. Great Crews
4. Willing to fix issues after all was done right away.
My wife and I thought that they did a wonderful job and that his team was very professional. He worked around our schedule and stuck to all his prices.
I would use System 1 any time”

– Jeff Baran (Lomita)

Angie’s List Review – April 2, 2014

“It went exactly as I expected, given their reviews on Angie’s list – PERFECTLY.  Estimator (Richard) & workers were exactly on time, price was fair, high quality quality work and materials.”

– D. Wayne Hoffman (Anaheim)

Angie’s List Review – March 17, 2014

“A great experience from start to finish. The owner showed up to my house to provide a quote two days after first contact and was on time. He gave a thorough explanation of their process and what to expect. He was honest about possible complications due to the age of my home (1947) and the price was very reasonable.

The work crew was scheduled for one week later and they also were prompt. I requested an earlier start time due to my wife’s work schedule and they accommodated that request. The finished product turned out great and there were almost no signs of work being done in my home. They were very clean. I would definitely use them again and recommend them to anyone who  needs acoustic work done in their home.”

– Matthew Bartz (La Verne)

Facebook Review – March 12, 2014

“I needed a lot of work done fast and System 1 was AMAZING at giving me a one-stop shop for electrical, acoustic-removal & painting. Richard and Bryan are the best. I highly recommend them for your next project. – Thanks, System 1.”

– Brendan Harper

Angie’s List Review – March 6, 2014

“They were prompt, did an excellent job,very polite, very clean, and very fair in price. They did a very good job. I would highly recommend them.”

– Ray Kelley (North Hills)

Angie’s List Review – February 18, 2014

“Very professional and easy to work with. Came out for a quote and was able to give me a price on the spot. Scheduled work to be done a couple of weeks later. Workers were very professional and very clean. Popcorn removal can be messy, but everything was covered or moved if needed and when the work was done you couldn’t even tell someone had been there. Very fast turnaround and very responsive. Would absolutely work with them again in the future if needed.”

– Emily Connolly (Hawthorne)

Angie’s List Review – February 17, 2014

“System 1 Acoustic was professional and quick in providing an estimate and once the work was agreed upon, the work was performed fast and ahead of time.
Because of the nature of my request, the work could be performed over a few weekends with minimal hassle.

The removal of the acoustic ceiling went very fast and we were relieved to find that minimal work was needed to smooth out the ceiling. The worker took two days to fully skim and seal our ceiling, as he put down a thick coat and two thin coats of plaster.

The painters were scheduled to arrive the following weekend but doe to another job finishing early, they were able to start ours sooner than expected. Wasting no time, the job was completed that day and all of System 1 Acoustic showed a high level of pride in their work.

The ceiling turned out better than we had expected and are extremely happy with the work and professionalism shown on the job. We will be using System 1 Acoustic again in the future.”

– Allison Gunn (Los Angeles)

Angie’s List Review – November 26, 2013

“System 1 repaired all of our kitchen drywall after an extensive water leak.  Additionally, they removed the acoustic ceiling from our dining/living room and hallway  Then, they painted the kitchen, dining/living room walls and ceiling.
System 1 is great!  They were extremely punctual, polite, and professional.  The guys cleaned up after themselves each day – you could hardly tell that work was being done other than they beautiful results.  Richard worked so closely with us to fit in their work around other contractors and delays.  As soon as the holidays are over, we are going to start working with them again to remove the popcorn ceiling from each bedroom and repaint.  We highly recommend them!”
– Brenda Laffin (City of Industry)
Angie’s List Review – November 16, 2013
We are about to start another project in our home and we immediately called on Rich from System 1 to give us a bid.  You see, we have used System 1 before on two other projects.  Rich responds very quickly to messages left.  He usually comes down the next day and gives a bid on the spot.  How refreshing.  He is so professional and knows his craft well – both what they can do and cannot do.  The people that work for Rich and Brian arrive on time, communicate well, take very good care of your property, finish when promised and clean up well before they leave.  Our major project involved 17 foot high ceilings with a large defect in the highest corner.  They not only repaired that ceiling to better than new, but protected our expensive grass-cloth without a single damage, even during the skim coating, priming and painting of the ceilings and walls in multiple rooms.  Our second project was just straight forward popcorn removal from our bedroom ceiling.  Thank you Rich & Brian.  We would recommend System 1 without any reservation. 
– Mark Gelbaum (Torrance)
Angie’s List Review – November 15, 2013
“These guys are fantastic from the initial consultation to the final product.  I’ll make this short and simple.  I have a 600 sq ft, first story condo in the West Valley.  They installed 4 recessed lights in the kitchen, 4 recessed lights in the living area  with a dimmer switch and installed a center light in the bedroom.  They ceilings are still in the rough state because you have to wait a few days before you can paint it.  The workmanship was great and the 3 guys were very nice and answered all my questions.  I bought a larger home that still has acoustic ceilings, so my wife and I will be having them do the work there as well.”
– Silvestre Pena (Porter Ranch)
Angie’s List Review – November 4, 2013
“Rooms look great. Painters on time, professional and thorough. House wasn’t as accessible during painting as I would have liked but that comes with having much of the house being painted at once. Colors look great and I would (and will) use them again. It’s been one-stop shopping with this company (popcorn ceiling removal, lighting, and now painting). Final cost and work time matched estimate. I highly recommend at least meeting with these guys and you may find yourself using them too.”
– Matt Kubicek (Alta Loma)
Angie’s List Review – September 13, 2013
“We recently purchased our first home–a 1964 ranch-style house.  The previous owner neglected the property and the ceilings were in need of TLC and updating.  My mom found System 1 through a search on the Internet.  She was impressed that they have a great deal of experience dealing with plaster-based popcorn ceilings, which can often be more difficult to remove.
Richard came out to inspect the house and provide a quote. He was super friendly and easy to talk with.  Even better, he took his time to explain the process, timeline, and provide details to us about the job, which has been important to us as new home owners.  We liked that he is licensed and insured.  But was sold us was his complete confidence in the work and that he whipped out an iPad to show us all of his A ratings on Angie’s List.
His crews spent two days on our job.  The first crew did the plaster work and left no mess.  The knockdown finish they added to our ceilings looks fantastic (we didn’t want smooth ceilings).  We had to do some work of our own to the house, so we waited a month to schedule System 1 come back and prime/paint the ceilings.  Again, the crew did a great job, left no mess, and helped to move the furniture back in the room.
We had slightly cheaper quotes for similar work, but we found out those contractors weren’t insured so we didn’t want to hire them.  Richard provided a solid package and stood behind the work.  We’re glad we went with System 1 and would recommend them to our friends and neighbors.”
– Lori Anderson (La Mirada)
Angie’s List Review – August 21, 2013
“The price was right, they scheduled the job quickly, came on time, and finshed on time. What more can you ask for?”
– Brian Wolf (Norco)
Angie’s List Review – August 13, 2013
“To start Richard was very quick to arrange a quote meeting and even offered an earlier time when his schedule was re-arranged. His quote was thorough and made quick decisions and offered the best options for the work I was looking to have done. Very nice and personable. Once the work was scheduled the workers arrived on time and immediately assessed the areas and went to work with little to no concerns. The job required only 2 men for the ceiling and 2 men for the lighting. The ease with which they used working in the same areas was impressive. The original quote for the work time was 7am-7pm. The ceilings were finished by 3pm with little to no mess. (My family gatherings are far more messy than these guys). The lighting was finished by 5pm and once again no mess. The quoted price for the ceiling was exactly what I paid which was great. The lighting (including all the retiring, lighting, spacing and fan installation with remotes) was very reasonable and close to what was quoted.”
– Matt Kubicek (Alta Loma)
Angie’s List Review – August 05, 2013
“They were very good.  The owner came out in person and gave us an estimate. Even though they were booked up for six weeks they still gave us an estimate. We needed the job done right away so they gave us names of other companies and they said to call back if we had no luck. So I called them back and they came out on a Sunday and did the work. I was really impressed with that. It was really nice of them.  They said they would be here at 7am and they were there on the dot. They did not make a mess and the quality of the work was outstanding.”
– Chris Kielich (Anaheim)

Angie’s List Review – February 7, 2013

“We have been wanting to get rid of acoustic ceilings for years, but dreaded the hassle. We looked around and got other quotes, but System1 had the best quote and with the least amount of disruption to our home.  They did several bedrooms, two hall areas, a walk in closet and a family room.

All told, 2 1/2 days of work spread over a Thursday, Friday and a Monday, and we had the ceilings we wanted! We also added in recessed can lights at the same time.

We even got a discount for mentioning Angie’s  List.

The crews were patient and helpful, even when our cats escaped before they started working on the first day. Note to pet owners – do a good job of securing them before the guys start working, because they will be freaked out by the noise if wrapping a room in plastic and tape!

Very little mess was left with acoustic removal. Mostly stuff I tracked into other areas of house, actually. The painters left a few splotches on our porch on way out – should be easy enough to clean, though.

I am not sure if I would choose the flat paint for ceiling, though… It is much more difficult to put the blue paint tape up without marking the freshly painted ceilings. I think I would have chosen eggshell, if I had to make the paint finish choice again. They do leave extra paint for touch ups after they leave.

Great experience.  Will hire them when we remove paneling for our next project! Thanks Richard and crews- you are awesome!”

– Michelle Green (El Segundo)

Angie’s List Review – July 23, 2013

“Great! The crew arrived EARLY! They promised that the ceiling would be removed in one day (I admit I had my doubts!), but they delivered. They gave me an approximate completion time, which they met. They stayed until the job, including clean-up, was done. I made sure to follow their instructions regarding preparing the furniture and accessories…they did some additional work, moving items when they arrived.

I also had System 1 return to paint the ceilings. Richard made some paint and finish suggestions. The homeowner can provide the paint or have System 1 provide the paint. Richard’s suggestions were excellent…coming from a lot of experience. I have already recommended System 1 to a friend. She was also very pleased!”

– Sharon Oh (Rancho Palos Verdes)

Angie’s List Review – July 22, 2013

“Crew was very professional, responded to all our concerns. They were very meticulous in protecting all areas of the house ie walls floors etc. the finish product was superb and all of the workers bent over backwards o respond to our needs.”

– Ruddie Jefferson (Pasadena)

Angie’s List Review – July 2, 2013

“We contacted System 1 in mid April for a quote to remove the ‘popcorn’ ceiling in our house. The house is appox. 2400 square feet and it was everywhere, including closets. The quote was good and we scheduled the work. System 1’s schedule was full so work was to commence in mid-May. It took about 2 days and no more popcorn!  They showed up when they said…everytime and stayed a full day.  I was impressed with the work and professionalism that the crew showed. They were efficient. In additon they did some repairs and drywall work. It looked great.  We also booked them to paint the interior of the house. Again, they were quite busy, but we scheduled in mid June for the painting, which worked out well as we has some other repairs needed to be completed by other vendors prior to painting. Richard was professional in his dealings with us by letting us know any changes to the schedule, well in advance so that we could adjust any of the other work. Not often do you get that kind of consideration with repair/construction situations.

Painting was an 8 day process and they did a great job! The walls, ceilings, molding all looked great when done. It was a new house!

I truly appreciated the way in which the various crews conducted themselves. They made a potentially stressful process, not stressful! And for that I am truly grateful. This is one vendor that I will happily put in my Rolodex for future work!”

– Laura Watson (Foothill Ranch)

Angie’s List Review – June 24, 2013

“The house looks amazing. We are very happy with the service provided by the electricians, the painters, and the texture team.”

– Judy Herrick (Tustin)

Angie’s List Review – May 31, 2013

“Originaly the owner came out and gave us a written quote. We could tell that he really new his business.
We were told they would arrive between 8:00am and 8:30am. They actually arrived at 7:30am which was wonderful. They were extremely professional. Our house is 14,450 square feet with cathedral and two story ceilings and we assumed it would take them all day. We left and about 3:30pm we received a phone call letting us know they were finished. We returned to our home and found they had done an incredible job. We had expected that it would take a full day.
The work was great, the people were great and the price was less than 2/3s of the lowest bid we received from anyone else. I highly recommend System 1 Inc.”

– Sonia Tarrish (Reseda)

Angie’s List Review – March 24, 2013

“I am so pleased with my decision to use System 1 for my acoustic ceiling removal. We did not have System 1 paint as we decided to do it ourselves. Richard was very helpful and responsive. He offered a very fair. He was clear up front that there was the possibility that they would need to dry-wall over the ceiling if the condition of the underlying material was not good and let me know what the price would be if that happened. The underlying ceiling was in good shape and this was not necessary, but it was nice he was upfront about it.

They worked me into the schedule quickly. The work was completed in around 6 hours and I am very pleased with the result.

Both Richard and the gentleman who performed the work were very knowledgeable and helpful.”

– James Case (Pasadena)

Angie’s List Review – February 26, 2013
“We had popcorn ceilings throughout our entire 1900 sq foot house except for the kitchen and two bathrooms. We even had popcorn ceilings in our closets! We didn’t have any overhead lighting in either of our two living rooms. We had System 1 remove all popcorn ceilings, re-plaster our ceilings, install recessed lights in two living rooms and a hallway and paint all of our ceilings.
We had been searching for a contractor for over two months to remove our popcorn ceilings. I must have called 10 different contractors, all of which either gave us insane bids ($10,000 JUST to remove popcorn and re-plaster) or didn’t even give us a bid because it was “too much work”. In my last ditch effort, I searched Angie’s List one more time and found System 1. I immediately felt hopeful because all they do is popcorn ceilings so I felt confident that they would be able to do the work and give us a fair price. I called Richard and set up a time to get a bid. He walked through our house and showed me two different options of plaster for our ceilings. I told him we wanted overhead lighting installed and painted. For all of that work, he quoted us $5,000, most of which was to install 13 total recessed lights that needed a circuit installed since there wasn’t one to work with. We thought it was a more than reasonable price for the amount of work and the difference it would make to our house.
The crew showed up around 7:30 and had our entire house taped off and covered in plastic ready to go. They were very conscious of protecting our walls and furniture from the water and overall mess. They had most of our house totally scraped and plastered at the end of day 1. One guy came out the next day to finish 2 more rooms. Then a week later after the plaster dried, they guys were out to paint our ceilings.
We always say that getting the popcorn removed and the lighting installed was the best thing we could have done for our house. The rooms are brighter and much less dingy looking. System 1 did an excellent job and we would definitely recommend them to friends. Their electrician also did a great job and we made sure to keep his card for any future electrical needs we have.”
– Amy Thomas (El Segundo)

Angie’s List Review – February 7, 2013

“Richard contacted me right away.  After providing him with photos of the statement of work and explaining the situation via emai, he bid via phone and followed up via email giving me some quick scheduling options within the week.  He was in the general price range of other service providers but was not one of the low bidders.
His service technician showed up early and waited.  He was pleasant and listened to my concerns.   His prep work and clean up was thorough.  He went well beyond what most contractors do when involving the client and assuring me that they would repair the work back to its original condition.  The actual patch and texture was well done.  It’s ready for painting.
System 1 was chosen due to high regard using the following factors:  Knowlegable service, reputation, longevity, availability, innovatiive website/communication tools and finally price.  I could have gone with a less expensive provider but why?”

– Robert Dung (Redondo Beach)

Angie’s List Review – January 22, 2013

“the experience with this company was great !! From the first estimate thru the completion they did fine work cleaned up everything and were polite and courteous.We intend to use them to paint the interior of our house.”

– Barbara McKee (Rancho Palos Verdes)

System 1 Acoustic Ceiling Removal Makes Angie's List Honor Roll

Angie’s List Review – January 14, 2013

“Richard was really great, his crew worked very hard removing our acoustic ceilings. He gave us a great referral for an electrician,The paint crew came about 2 weeks later and did a really excellent job! Both crews worked efficiently and the work was quality.”

– Michele Gregory (Rancho Palos Verdes)

Angie’s List Review – January 6, 2013

“Richard McKinnon is extremely professional.   We had gotten several other estimates before he came out, and his was by far the most detailed and at a fair price for the scope of work.  He took the time to answer all our questions and really explained the process.
We made several changes from the original estimate, and went from having them remove the acoustic on one floor and doing some painting touch up to having all the acoustic removed throughout the house and the entire interior painted.  He was always responsive, understanding and easy to work with.   And we are so glad that we did the entire house, it makes it feel like new!

There is something to be said for working with companies with generations of experience in a given area.  Richard and company know their stuff and they are dedicated to a great outcome for their customers.”

– Marie Anderson-Harris (Burbank)

Angie’s List Review – December 19, 2012

“We called System 1 Acoustic Ceiling Removal for an estimate to remove our “popcorn” ceilings. Other guys came in and told us it was most definitely asbestos. System 1 was very easy to talk to and answered all our questions. He even took a sample on the spot to assure us it was not asbestos. He got us a quote within 24 hours and it was very competitive. While we will not be smoothing the ceilings at this time because it no longer poses a health threat; and due to budget constraints — we will definitely be hiring System 1 when we decide to move forward on scraping the ceilings.”

– Sarah Guigliano (Los Angeles)

Angie’s List Review – December 10, 2012

“Rich came out and went through the house, and explained a lot to me about plaster versus drywall, and what they could do.  His company also does painting, but he quotes it separately and makes it clear that it isn’t a problem if you’ve got another painter to use.  Ultimately, I went with them for both.
About 1700 sf of ceiling in the house had the dreaded acoustic ceiling texture.  I had this work done before I moved in because I feared never getting around to it, otherwise.  It was great to go with a company that specializes in ceilings, because their results are great.  Two walls had significant cracks where the house had settled, they were able to replaster them and make them look perfect, also.”

– Shelley Hall (Brea)

Angie’s List Review – October 5, 2012

“Our home is app. 2300 S.F. built in 1987 and had acoustic ceilings throughout the house.  They came to give us an estimate just a few days after we called.  The very next week work started on the day that was convienient for us.  The first crew arrived on time and worked all day.  After applying plastic all over for protection and moving the furniture and removing light fixtures they removed the acoustic, re textured the ceiling then removed the plastic and cleaned up before leaving.  They left the furniture toward the middle of the room and the light fixtures down, but explained to us that the painting crew would replace all of that.  After two days to dry the paint crew came, again on time and put up new plastic for protection. They painted then replaced the light fixtures, put the furniture back and cleaned up and left.  The painting was faster then the removal and texture so they were done in about 6-7 hours. Both crews were very friendly, and very good at their job.  Our home looks newer and the ceiling look very clean now.   What impressed us the most when we compare to others ervice providers that we have had in the past  was that they asked for no money up front.  After the first crew was done we paid for that service, then when the second crew was done we paid the balance.  For people like us who have lost money to dishonest workers this was wonderful for us.  Thank You again.”

– Arthur Gamst (Highland)

Facebook Review – September 16, 2012

“Thank you Richard and System 1 painting for the wonderful job you and your company did for my grandmother on the interior of her house.  It was a wonderful palette to create her dream ‘model’ home.

She would love to recommend your business for any future clients you may have.  She is so happy with your work and we can’t wait to show you pictures of the finalized designs in her new “castle”.

Thank you so much, from our family to yours!”

– Kristen LittleJohn-Lasker

Facebook Review – August 27, 2012

“Good Honest Company & Owner… They stand behind their work. I have had them work on my home & countless real estate clients too!”

– David Clesceri

Angie’s List Review – August 22, 2012

“Richard came (a long way!) to estimate these services. He was punctual and utterly professional. He provided a firm price on the spot, but exerted no pressure at all for an immediate decision.
His price was fair, and I had full confidence that his company would do a good job. However, I also required some services (such as new baseboards and additional repairs) that were outside System 1’s charter. From a timing perspective, it was better to let a single general contractor handle the entire job.
If I had been in the market strictly for the services that System 1 offered, I would have accepted Richard’s bid without question. I found dealing with System 1 to be a real pleasure.”

– Michael Thorn (Camarillo)

Angie’s List Review – August 4, 2012

“Richard came out for the estimate and was very patient with us in explaining all the options and pricing. System 1 was not the lowest cost provider, but we felt that it would be better to have 1 contractor do the ceilings, lighting and painting, rather than 3 different contractors. The drywall/ceiling crew was great. Very fast, and helped do some minor patching around the house while they were here. The lighting/electrician person is a sub-contractor of System 1. Because of that, his price for recessed lighting was a little higher per can than other contractors. It was nice to have the electrician working with the ceiling crew so that they could patch his work. Finally, the paint crew, led by Bryan, also did a good job. We changed the color in some rooms after they started and he and Richard were patient in working with us to accommodate. I also appreciate that they stuck to their pricing pretty well. We did ask for some extra work after the project started, and for the really minor stuff, they didn’t charge us, and for the other stuff, the extra charges were reasonable. Also, System 1 was responsive to emails and texts, which was very helpful as our renovation project was moving along quickly and we had to coordinate with other contractors.”

– Albert Chang (Pasadena)

Angie’s List Review – July 1, 2012

“I bought a house with ugly popcorn ceilings and hideously ugly paint. Richard gave me a great estimate and pointed out some pretty bad painting mistakes made by the previous owner. I had no idea popcorn ceiling removal created such a mess. They handled it perfectly with enormous amounts of plastic sheeting. They were professional and hard working. The end result was fantastic. It was much more work than I had anticipated but in the end it looked great. I would use this company again.”

– Jerrid De Jesus (Upland)

Angie’s List Review – June 1, 2012

“Three different crew were sent out on three days. Day one removed the acoustic material. Walls and floors were encased in plastic. Day two the texture was applied. It was allowed to dry for two days then one of painting. I’m very impressed with the quality of the work. I highly recommend this company.”

– James Sawatzki – (Tustin)

Angie’s List Review – April 12, 2012

“The sales rep was very professional, very nice – the only one out of the three bidders who brought samples.  When he pulled out the samples, I thought, “Oh, wow.  This guy’s too professional.  He’s gonna’ try to gouge me on price now.”  But his price was the lowest of the three.
His crew showed up promptly and finished the job in record time.  I was concerned that they might not have done a good job when they called me home, because it was a lot faster than I thought it would be.But they did an amazing job.  I would definitely use them again.”

– Cathryn Roos (La Habra)

Facebook Review – February 13, 2012

“Thanks System 1 for the great job on the ceiling, lighting, and painting!  I really appreciate your responsiveness.”

– Kathy Miller Midgley (Los Angeles)

System 1 Interiors on Angie's List

Angie’s List Review – July 10, 2011

“Once the repaired ceiling was painted, it looked outstanding.  There were a few minor problems but nothing out of the ordinary.  For example there was slight damage near the wall/ceiling interface at some points due to lifting of paint from the wall, but this is hard to avoid because the walls have to be covered with plastic sheeting prior to scraping the ceilings, and the tape can pull up paint.  There were also a couple of spots where the caulking at the interface wasn’t perfect, but when I pointed them out they got repaired.  These guys are very good.  My only complaint would be I found them a tad expensive.  I estimated that the total work time that was spent on the ceilings was 12 hours and on the painting about 4-5 hours.  Works out to ~$100/hour.  I’m quite sure the guys doing the work weren’t paid anywhere near that.  However, it is only fair to point out that I did get other estimates and System1 was competitive.  One other company was a bit cheaper but I was much more impressed by the demeanor of the System1 estimator so I went with them.  System1 does good work and they were responsive when I pointed out problems, so I would use them again.”

– Linda Silveira (Pasadena)

Angie’s List Review – Nov. 2, 2010

“I could not have asked for better service.  They were professional, prompt, extremely clean, provided excellent results and were a great crew.  I have recommended to several friends and I would definitely them use again.”

– Karen Thomsen (Santa Ana)